About us

About us

Your Cover





* Based on an Australian Government Rebate of %, % LHC loading, $ excess for a in . Please note that our prices will increase from 1 April

Change your cover or compare

Teachers Health was established by the NSW Teachers Federation in 1954 to provide cost-effective health insurance for members of the education industry and their families.

Since 1954, the foundation membership of 2,600 people has grown to encompass more than 360,000 individuals in the Australian education community, creating the largest industry-based fund in Australia.

Our current membership base includes union members who are employees working in public, private and independent primary and secondary schools, as well as tertiary institutions. Administration and support staff in these workplaces are also eligible to join.

We also offer membership to the families of people in the education community including their current or former spouse/partner, dependant children, adult children (or their partner or dependant children), siblings (or their partners or dependant children), parents and grandchildren.


Read more about eligibility


Teachers Health Fund has a proud history of awards and acknowledgements, including most recently:

  • being named Private Health Insurer of the Year in the Roy Morgan Research Customer Satisfaction Awards in 2015 and 2013. Roy Morgan is the world’s largest ongoing single source survey and each year approximately 50,000 Australians identify industry leaders in various fields.

  • acknowledgement as an Employer of Choice for Gender Equality by the Workplace Gender Equality Agency in 2015 and 2014. The citation is designed to encourage, recognise and promote active commitment to achieving gender equality in Australian workplaces and replaced the EOWA Employer of Choice for Women citation in 2014. Teachers Health Fund was a proud recipient of the Employer of Choice for Women from 2011 – 2013.

  • being named National Contact Centre of the Year (less than 30 full-time employees) at the 2013 Australian Teleservices Association (ATA) awards (now the Auscontact Association).